Understanding the SIP Replaces Header

SIP Adventures

I have been writing articles for this blog since June of 2013.  My goal is to cover the many different aspects of unified communications with a clear emphasis on SIP.  Every once in a while I push the envelope and write about something that only has a loose connection to communications, but for the most part I stick with my game plan.

Something near and dear to my nerdy heart is SIP the protocol.  I love digging through call flows and figuring out what occurred.  They are my puzzles and brain teasers.

My protocol indulgence for today involves one of the least understood SIP headers – Replaces.  The Replaces header wasn’t in the original definition of SIP, but its need was quickly recognized and a proposal came in the form of RFC 3891.   You are welcome to find and read the RFC, but I think I can tell…

View original post 606 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

